Blogging–healthy or dysfunctional coping strategy?

I’m wondering if starting this blog is a healthy coping strategy, a dysfunctional one, or maybe a little of both?

1.  On one hand I see it as healthy, a step toward transforming the pain, hurt and struggle into one of healing, growth and hope for myself.

Romans 8:28-29 NIV “We know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him…those god foreknew he also predestined to be conformed to the likeness of his Son.”

Also it’s a move toward the “altruism” stage where I use what I’ve been through to help others.

2 Corinthians 1:3-5 NIV “Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves have received from God. For just as the sufferings of Christ flow over into our lives, so also through Christ our comfort overflows.”

2. On the other hand, could blogging be a maladaptive avoidance method–where I’m avoiding facing the here-and-now.  My style I believe has been to make sure I’m overly busy-so I don’t have to think about reality, and when things slow down feelings, thoughts start to show up. I used to read a lot.  Now I’m on the computer.

But to put things in perspective.  I completed one post yesterday.  And later that night my family and I went out to dinner and we talked and  laughed together.  This morning I went to church.  Tonight I helped my tween, Beth,  prepare a dish and gave her some guidance with a dessert she was experiementing with.  I also vacuumed.  So the computer useage isn’t to a point where I’ve cut myself off from my family or let the chores in my home go undone.

I asked my husband to read the preview of this blog and asked him to help me keep a balance and let me know if I was spending too much time on the computer.  Plus now that I’m aware I’ll be more intentional in considering if I’m overdoing the computer time.

Beth’s calling, “Come on mom, sit by me mom.” It’s dinner time.   I’m going to pursue some balance–starting now : )

Leave a Reply

