New Job: Wrestling with self doubt

I’m starting a new job today.  Friday night,  something happened to me on a professional level that had me questioning my competency.  That night I read Carmen’s blog “The Truth About My Inadequacies A Lesson From the Bible” (http://www.crosswalk.com/blogs/carmen-life-blessons/the-truth-about-my-inadequacies-a-lesson-from-the-bible.html)

and, I identify both with the verses and commentary.  Carmen says:

that God tells “the people that although this Temple may not have the splendor of the old one, ‘I will fill this place with glory … The future glory of this Temple will be greater than its past glory, says the LORD Almighty. And in this place I will bring peace.’   (Haggai 2: 7-9)

The people here were saddened by the inadequacy of what they were building. They wanted it to be more—more beautiful, more grand, more worthy of being the Lord’s house. But the Lord steps in and reminds them that that isn’t what this is all about. It isn’t about the grandeur of how it appears, but about the grandeur of the Lord himself.

God was not concerned with the inadequacies of their work at all. He just wanted them to be doing the work! “Take heart and finish the task!” he says in Zechariah 8:9, and a few chapters earlier, he says, “Do not despise these small beginnings, for the LORD rejoices to see the work begin…” He would do the rest, and that was all that mattered. In fact, even though the place may look inadequate from the outside, God will make it more glorious than the building that was gilded in gold!” (Haggai 2:9)

My M.O. has been to compare myself with others.

I embark on a new journey today in my career and I am scared and anxious that I will not be as good as the person whom I am replacing.  I believe my career is also my ministry and I do not want to fail God.  I take heart as Carmen quotes Zechariah 8:9, that God rejoices that I am taking the faith step to start this new position (even if it’s a “small beginning”) and that He can make my ministry one that can be a blessing to others and that it is not about me–but His grandeur and glory.

That  “even though the place may look inadequate from the outside, God will make it more glorious than the building that was gilded in gold!”  Amen.

Leave a Reply

